Thread: 2012 Trek Superfly AL Elite or Superfly 100 AL Elite?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Default 2012 Trek Superfly AL Elite or Superfly 100 AL Elite?

I'm brand new to qcforc (just registered today) and am looking forward to becoming a member. I will be present at the 8th SIS to observe and am looking forward to meeting everyone and riding as often as possible this summer. I wanted to post to get some advice regarding hardtail versus full suspension. I am just a couple weeks away from pulling the trigger on a 2012 Trek Superfly AL Elite and think this will be an awesome bike or XC but wanted to hear others views (pros/cons) on staying with a hardtail versus going with the Superfly 100 AL Elite. I'm able to get the hardtail from a local shop I see advertised on this site for $1925 (total w/tax/out the door). Thanks in advance for your help.

Buy it!

Then ride Novice in the Stampede!

You'll thank me later.
    Rg.
    Haters gonna hate.

Pretty sure you can't go wrong with either of those bikes, especially on our local trails. Both are silly fast. The SF100's rear suspension would serve to take the edge off. My recommendation would be to ride both bikes, decide which one you like best, and then buy it!!

Thats sounds to me like a crazy stupid good deal on the hardtail!
    "ya, well...that's like...your...opinion. man."

If your serious about racing or think you might be in the future then do the hardtail. If you want a bike that will be mainly a trail bike, but still hold it's own at the races do the 100. Really, a hardtail is all you need for Midwest riding in my humble opinion... but I also race a hardtail 26er in Colorado so I may just be crazy too.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.